Theatiner 8

Website

Café-Restaurant Theatiner 8 

Culinary meets art.

“A healthy mind in a healthy body” – that means: feed the mind and the senses with selected art and then the body with freshly prepared delights. This is how Theatiner 8 interprets the old Roman quotation in a tongue-in-cheek, very contemporary way. Centrally located on the 1st floor of the Kunsthalle Munich, the café-restaurant Theatiner 8 serves modern-urban Bavarian culinary delights. Guests are spoiled with food and drinks of regional origin, served in a cosy modern ambience and with a good portion of cordiality.

Quickly. In between. And very cosy.

The Café & Restaurant Theatiner 8 on the 1st floor is open daily from 10 a.m. to 8 p.m.. Here in the café-restaurant you can sit, eat and drink in a relaxed atmosphere – before or after an exhibition visit or just because. Only fresh regional ingredients and foodstuffs are used. At lunchtime during the week, there’s the inexpensive “quick plate”, perfect for a short lunch break when you still want to sit down and relax and eat something “proper”. The drinks menu offers a wide selection of non-alcoholic drinks and Augustiner beers. On top of that, the bar menu delights with exquisite wines, long drinks and other treats.

Street vending for those in a hurry

If you are short of time, you can get all kinds of tasty treats at the street food counter on the ground floor of Perusahof. Coffee, tea and other hot drinks as well as incredibly tasty pastries and cakes, for more experience in life – to take away or for a little break at the counter with a view of the FÜNF HÖFE arcades. Also on offer: coffee beans from the Krysa caffeine plant in Chiemgau and small gifts. From spring 2021, Theatiner 8 will also be a street café in the pedestrian zone of Theatinerstraße.

Bavarian “hardware and software”

When designing the interior, great importance was attached to the use of local materials such as wood and glass. Design accents on the one hand set the scene for details of the respective exhibitions of the Kunsthalle and on the other hand reflect the Bavarian way of life. Cosy seating niches create a sense of comfort and offer a retreat from the hustle and bustle of everyday city life. Separate lounge areas invite you to linger, where you can relax and watch the strollers down in the passage. Another eye-catcher in the café area is the generous cake counter, which presents fresh cakes and tarts from the in-house patisserie/pastry shop every day.

Exclusive events at Theatiner 8

By the way: all rooms of the Kunsthalle and the Theatiner 8 can be rented for events, also in combination with catering and guided tours. This also applies to the 100 m² “Gartensalon” event room on the exhibition level. The central location, the inviting interior and the equipment with state-of-the-art media technology offer optimal conditions for events of all kinds.

  • FÜNF HÖFE
    Theatinerstr. 8
    80333 München
  • 089 / 997 428 600
  • To-Go:
    Mon-Fri 08:30 am - 06:00 pm
    Sat 09:00 am - 06:00 pm

    Restaurant & Café: Temporarily closed

Map

Map view: 2D 3D

Theatiner 8

Website

Das Café-Restaurant Theatiner 8 – Kulinarik trifft Kunst

„Ein gesunder Geist in einem gesunden Körper“ – das heißt: Füttere den Geist und die Sinne mit ausgewählter Kunst und dann den Körper mit frisch zubereiteten Genüssen. So interpretiert das Theatiner 8 augenzwinkernd das alte römische Zitat ganz zeitgemäß. Zentral gelegen, in der 1. Etage der Kunsthalle München, serviert das Café-Restaurant Theatiner 8 modern-urban umgesetzte bayerische Kulinarik. Die Gäste werden mit Speisen und Getränken regionaler Herkunft verwöhnt, serviert in gemütlich-modernem Ambiente und mit einer guten Portion Herzlichkeit.

Schnell. Zwischendurch. Und ganz gemütlich.

Das Café & Restaurant Theatiner 8 im 1. Obergeschoss ist täglich von 10 bis 20 Uhr für seine Gäste da, außerdem an jedem dritten Mittwoch im Monat zur traditionellen Afterwork der Kunsthalle mit verlängerter Öffnungszeit bis 22 Uhr. Hier im Café-Restaurant kann man entspannt sitzen, essen und trinken – vor oder nach einem Ausstellungsbesuch oder einfach so. Es werden ausschließlich frische regionale Zutaten und Lebensmittel verarbeitet. Mittags während der Woche gibt’s den günstigen „schnellen Teller“, perfekt für eine kurze Mittagspause, in der man doch entspannt sitzen und etwas „ordentliches“ essen möchte. Die Getränkekarte bietet eine große Auswahl an alkoholfreien Getränken und Augustiner Bieren. Die Barkarte erfreut obendrein mit erlesenen Weinen, Longdrinks und anderen Gaumenfreuden.

Straßenverkauf für Eilige

Wer wenig Zeit hat, bekommt im Erdgeschoss des Perusahofs an der Theke im Straßenverkauf allerlei feine Leckereien für den kleinen Hunger zwischendurch. Kaffee, Tee und andere Heißgetränke sowie unfassbar leckeres Gebäck und Kuchen, für mehr Erleben im Leben – zum Mitnehmen oder für die kleine Pause am Tresen mit Blick in die Passagen der FÜNF HÖFE. Außerdem im Sortiment: Kaffeebohnen des Koffeinwerks Krysa aus dem Chiemgau sowie kleine Geschenke. Ab Frühjahr 2021 ist das Theatiner 8auch als Straßencafé in der Fußgängerzone der Theatinerstraße zu finden.

Bayerische „Hard- und Software“

Bei der Gestaltung des Interieurs wurde großer Wert auf die Verwendung heimischer Materialien wie Holz und Glas gelegt. Designakzente setzen einerseits Details der jeweiligen Ausstellungen der Kunsthalle in Szene und spiegeln andererseits die bayerische Lebensart wider. Heimelige Sitznischen schaffen Gemütlichkeit und bieten einen Rückzugsort vom trubeligen Alltag des Stadtlebens. Gesonderte Loungebereiche laden zum Verweilen ein, hier kann man die Flaneure unten in der Passage entspannt beobachten. Ein Blickfang im Cafébereich ist auch die großzügige Kuchentheke, die täglich frische Kuchen und Torten aus der hauseigenen Patisserie/Konditorei präsentiert.

Exklusive Events im Theatiner 8

Übrigens: Alle Räumlichkeiten der Kunsthalle und das Theatiner 8können für Veranstaltungen, auch in Kombination mit Catering und Führungen, gemietet werden. Dies gilt auch für den 100 m² großen Veranstaltungsraum „Gartensalon“ auf Ausstellungsebene. Die zentrale Lage, das einladende Interieur und die Ausstattung mit modernster Medientechnik bieten optimale Rahmenbedingungen für Events jeglicher Art.

  • FÜNF HÖFE
    Theatinerstr. 8
    80333 München
  • Café, Bar & Restaurant
  • 089 / 99 74 28 600
  • Straßenverkauf im Erdgeschoss | Cafe im 1. OG
  • Straßenverkauf: Mo - Fr 08:30 - 16:00 Uhr
    Restaurant & Café: zur Zeit geschlossen



Lageplan

Planansicht: 2D 3D